Bulimba Kippington Sevenoaks
A 22-bedroom house set in about 20 acres adjacent to St Mary’s Church, “Bulinba” was built by William Hemmant, a British-Australian politician who served in the Legislative Assembly of Queensland from 1871 to 1876. This house was demolished in 1933. Bulimba got its name from a suburb of Brisbane.
“BULIMBA,” SEVENOAKS - This house stands on well-timbered grounds which slope from Kippington Church southwards, commanding a beautiful view from the terraces. The external walls are built of Kentish Rag set in cement, with Bath stone dressings. The motif of the design was suggested by the gables of Knole Park. The hall, to be used as living hall, will be finished all in oak, with dado 6 feet high, the staircase and arcading will also be in oak with carved panels, etc. The large window lighting the hall will be fitted with stained glass by Messrs Standring & Company of Manchester. The ceilings of dining-room and library will be in oak, varied in design. The walls of the dining-room will have high panelling with chimney-piece and sideboard designed with it, the panels in the walls being filled with tapestry. The drawing-rooms will have mahogany dado and chimney-piece relieved with bronzed enriched mouldings; the frieze and ceiling, etc., as well as the ceiling and frieze to morning-rooms, will be in rich plaster work; all this being executed by Messrs. Heighway and Company. All the doors are of oak and mahogany fumigated, the furniture and hinges having been specially designed by the architects, and made by Messrs. Smith & Company. The floors of the hall and entertaining rooms will be laid with parquet by Messrs. Illingworth Ingham & Co. All the upper lights of mullioned windows will be filled with stained glass by Messrs Lavers & Westlake. The principal bath-room will have solid marble bath, with marble dado, etc., the latter made by Messrs. Pattison. A special feature is made of the loggia entered from the principal bedroom, and from which there is a charming view. The walls and floors are finished in marble mosaic of special design, and executed by Messrs de Greille, Houdret, & Company, who have also done the rest of the mosaic flooring in the house, verandah, etc. The general contractor for the building is Mr. D. Baker, of Folkestone. Mr. G. Jennings has carried out the sanitary fittings. Mr. Millson has executed the whole of the stone and wood carving. The warm-air apparatus has been fixed and provided by Mr. Langfield. Mr. E. P. Wright is clerk of works, and Messrs. E. Salomons and A. Steinthal are the architects. We append illustrations of four carved wood-work panels, which form a portion of the decoration of the interior. [Builder 24 January 1891 page 69]
Reference Builder 24 January 1891 page 69
Reference Historic England Archive – sales details 1916 9 images